Roscoe Mitchell – Sound [Re-release]



    Roscoe Mitchell – Sound
    Delmark DE 4408 (2018)

    Fifty years after Sound was first released on Delmark Records (Delmark 408), not only has music changed, our ear has changed. Music is not a universal language, as well intended but poorly informed authors like to say. The musical ear is a historical and social construct that belongs to a specific society and a specific time. A 21st century listener would be more amazed than surprised or shocked by this music; amazed by its maturity, its balance, and its sense of structure. Instead of the cataract of adjectives and superlatives this music provoked in its initial reviews, one now can justly appreciate how much of its language has become integrated into the current “historical ear”. Re-issued from the original Stu Black analog mix for the first time!

    ROSCOE MITCHELL – Alto Sax, Clarinet, Recorder, etc.
    LESTER BOWIE – Trumpet, Flugelhorn, Harmonica
    LESTER LASHLEY – Trombone, Cello
    MAURICE McINTYRE – Tenor Sax
    ALVIN FIELDER – Percussion

    Additional information

    Weight 3.5 oz
    Dimensions N/A