Volcano Radar ft. Paquito D’Rivera – Paquito Libre



Volcano Radar ft. Paquito D’Rivera – Paquito Libre
Delmark DE 5028

“Paquito D’Rivera is both as free and as embedded as can be with Volcano Radar, the explosive, expansive, radiant electro-acoustic ensemble, co-led by multi-instrumentalist Elbio Barilari and guitarist/synthesist Julia A. Miller. Keyboardist Darwin Noguera, bassist Rollo Radford and drummer Ernie Adams collaborate in the creation of vivid and mysteriously improvised soundscapes,” writes jazz critic Howard Mandel. Volcano Radar’s soundscapes have been described as: noise-funk, post-jazz, avant-rock, experimental improvisation, jazz-electronica and neo-psychedelia. On their Delmark debut, Volcano Radar and Paquito D’Rivera as you never heard him before, surf together through uncharted waters. Notes by Howard Mandel enclosed.

  1. Paquito Libre 7:14
  2. East Pole, West Pole 6:59
  3. Afterimages 7:24
  4. The Quark and the Jaguar 6:20
  5. Writing in the Sand 4:54
  6. Mental Tango 5:17
  7. Just Before Midnight 6:08

Paquito D’Rivera – clarinet, alto sax
Elbio Barilari – electric viola, electric guitar, flugelhorn, pocket trumpet, bass clarinet, bandoneon, Fender Rhodes, electric bass, birimbao, electronics
Julia A. Miller – guitar synth, electric guitar, electric bass
Darwin Noguera – piano, Hammond B3 organ, keyboards
Rollo Radford – electric bass
Ernie Adams – drums, percussion

Additional information

Weight 3.5 oz
Dimensions N/A