Common Ground – High Voltage


    High Voltage documents the groundbreaking musical explorations of electric violinists Zach Brock and Tom Wright. Taking the violin ever farther toward its possibilities as the ultimate jazz axe, their band Common Ground offers six original compositions and two classic covers: a bold arrangement of “Freedom Jazz Dance,” and George Harrison’s “Within You, Without You” to close the album. Both violins are five-string electrics and the amplified sound is embraced and exploited for its dynamic range and tonal freedom. A potent rhythm section drives the ensemble, with veteran bassist Mike Arnopol, versatile drummer Tom Hipskind, and the brilliant emerging pianist, Jordan Baskin.

    In stock


    Common Ground – High Voltage
    Delmark DE 564
    Compact Disc (2006)

    Additional information

    Weight 4 oz
    Dimensions 6 × 5 × 0.5 in