New Releases

Volcano Radar featuring Paquito D’Rivera     
Paquito Libre
Delmark DE 5028

“Paquito D’Rivera is both as free and as embedded as can be with Volcano Radar, the explosive, expansive, radiant electro-acoustic ensemble, co-led by multi-instrumentalist Elbio Barilari and guitarist/synthesist Julia A. Miller. Keyboardist Darwin Noguera, bassist Rollo Radford and drummer Ernie Adams collaborate in the creation of vivid and mysteriously improvised soundscapes,” says jazz critic Howard Mandel. Volcano Radar’s soundscapes have been described as: noise-funk, post-jazz, avant-rock, experimental improvisation, jazz-electronica and neo-psychedelia. On their Delmark debut Volcano Radar and Paquito D’Rivera, as you never heard him before, surf together through uncharted waters.

  1. Paquito Libre 7:14
  2. East Pole, West Pole 6:59
  3. Afterimages 7:24
  4. The Quark and the Jaguar 6:20
  5. Writing in the Sand 4:54
  6. Mental Tango 5:17
  7. Just Before Midnight 6:08

Paquito D’ Rivera: alto sax & clarinet
Elbio Barilari: flugelhorn, pocket trumpet, bass clarinet, electric viola, electric guitar, Fender Rhodes, electric bass & electronics.
Julia Miller: synth guitar, electric guitar & electric bass
Darwin Noguera: piano, Hammond B3 organ & keyboards
Rollo Radford: electric bass
Ernie Adams: drumset & percussion

Roscoe Mitchell Sextet    
Sound   Original Mixes
Delmark DE 4408

Sound – a landmark recording!
Sound – the first documentation of AACM music!
Sound – the state of the art of ensemble in 1966; a summary of the past and implications of things to come!
In a Rolling Stone review of the CD re-issue Bob Blumenthal wrote: “Mitchell, the AACM’s greatest player and composer, is in brilliant form, as are his Art Ensemble of Chicago colleagues Lester Bowie and Malachi Favors and the others. A new chapter in what Chicagoans like to call “Great Black Music”.  Sound received a five-star rating in Down Beat’s June 15, 1967 edition. This edition of Sound will feature the original Stu Black mix, previously unissued on CD.

1. Ornette 5:25
2. The Little Suite 10:27
3. Sound 21:30
4. Ornette (alternate) 5:39
5. Sound (take 1) 26:26

Roscoe Mitchell: alto sax, clarinet, recorder, etc.
Lester Bowie: trumpet, flugelhorn, harmonica
Lester Lashley: trombone, cello
Maurice McIntyre: tenor sax
Malachi Favors: bass
Alvin Fielder: percussion