The Euphonic Series

The Euphonic Series derives from music recorded or collected by Paul Affeldt, publisher of Jazz Report magazine, for release on his Euphonic Sounds label, an outgrowth of his interest in early jazz and blues, particularly the piano. Paul discovered jazz in his home state of Wyoming before moving to southern California and named his label after his favorite rag. Delmark recently acquired the master tapes and is proud to add these fine titles to its catalog.

Piano Red Dr. Feelgood

Delmark DD-740 $11.99

Willie Perryman, younger brother of Speckled Red, began recording in 1936 accompaning Blind Willie McTell but it was during the1950s that Piano Red recorded a stream of gold records for Victor. Red had a second successful career as Dr. Feelgood on the revived Okeh label and helped usher in the R&B craze of the time. Delmark is proud to present Piano Red, a personable representative of the world of blues piano, from this 1975 solo session.

Song List:
1. Dr. Feelgood
2. Boogie Time
3. Low Down Dog Blues
4. Jump, Man Jump
5. Coochi
6. I Know You Care For Me
7. Think She Ain't
8. We'll Have A Good Time Tonight
9. Please Don't Talk About Me When I'm Gone
10. Comin' On
11. Let's Fall In Love
12. Barrelhouse Boogie

Biddle Street Barrelhousin' Delmark DE-739 $15.99

With Speckled Red, Henry Brown, Stump Johnson, James Crutchfield and Lawrence Henry. By the late '20s Biddle Street was the site of most blues activity in St. Louis. Quite a few of the artists that played there were still alive in the '50s and this album features some of St. Louis' great blues pianists from that era. More than 70 minutes with 19 songs of which 13 are previously unissued performances. Descriptive notes by Bob Koester.

Song List:
1. Oh, Red!
2. Dad's Piece
3. Goin' Down Slow
4. 21st Street Stomp
5. Levee Blues
6. Blow North Wind
7. How Long Blues
8. Milk Cow Blues
9. Black Gal
10. Black Gal
11. Ora-Nelle Blues
12. Pearly Mae Blues
13. Snitcher's Blues
14. Blues For Lindy
15. St. Louis Blues
16. Memphis Blues
17. Goin' Down To Becky Thatcher
18. All On Account Of You
19. Wilkins Street Stomp

Charles Thompson Neglected Professor
Delmark DE-738 $15.99

Charles Thomspon, born in 1891, first met his mentor, stride pianist, James P. Johnson around 1912. In 1916 Thompson became the Missouri State Champion Ragtime Pianist. He combined his lyrical midwestern ragtime with the blues, and pointed the way east to the Harlem style that would become the jazz piano mainstream.These 26 performances from the early '60s (eight previously unissued) are culled from two informal parties one of which was hosted by ragophile Trebor Tichenor who wrote the descriptive notes.

Song List:
1. Lily Rag #1
2. Delmar Blues
3. When Sambo Goes To France
4. Delmar Rag (Alternate)
5. The One I Love
6. Centennial Rag
7. The Dream
8. Dicty's On 7th Avenue
9. Lingering Blues
10. Carolina Shout
11. Five Foot Two
12. St. Louis Blues
13. 12th Street Rag
14. Maori
15. Derby Stomp
16. Leola (Two-Step)
17. Lily Rag #2
18. Brother-In-Law Dan
19. Delmar Rag
20. St. Louis Blues (Alt)
21. When Sambo Goes To France (Alt)
22. How Deep Is The Ocean
23. Go Back Where You Stayed Last Night
24. Tennessee Waltz
25. Chimes Blues
26. Lily Rag #3

Sister Elizabeth Eustis Walk With Me
Delmark DD-737 $11.99

This album resurrects the definitive 1962 recording session by an historic pillar of New Orleans' gospel singing community, Sister Elizabeth Eustis. Only four of the thirteen songs from this session were originally released; the other nine - which include some of the session's most brilliant moments - are issued here for the very first time. They recall a classic New Orleans gospel vocalist, a venerable Baptist church-house singer.

Song List:
1. In My Home Over There
2. My Heart Is Fixed Alright
3. A Sinner's Plea
4. The Last Mile Of The Way
5. Just A Little While To Stay Here
6. Old Rugged Cross
7. Joshua Fit The Battle Of Jericho
8. Faith And Grace
9. He Knows My Heart
10. It Is No Secret
11. Walk With Me
12. The Silent Communion Of Prayer
13. Lord, Lord, Lord, You Certainly Been Good To Me

Back to News and New Releases.

Home to the Delmark Home Page