Learned My Lesson is the celebration of Zora Young's lifelong love affair with the blues.This is Zora's first album on an established American label which is surprising since she is one of the most creative blues singers in Chicago. Zora was born in West Point, Mississippi and raised in Chicago where she grew up singing gospel music in a south side church. After years in the R&B "chittlin circuit", she switched to blues and since then has shared the stage with B.B. and Albert King, played the Chicago Blues Festival many times and tours Europe regularly. Zora's voice ranges from a melancholy whisper to a rock 'n' roll scream, and she will have you in her corner with one listen. With this album Zora Young has finally arrived to claim her rightful place as a contemporary blues powerhouse.

Song List:
1. Pity Party
2. The Lord Helps Those Who Help Themselves
3. Nutbush City Limits
4. Better Off With The Blues
5. Girl Friend
6. Blues Fallin' Down Like Rain
7. My Man's An Undertaker
8. Damn Your Eyes
9. Learned My Lesson
10. Brain Damage
11. Living In The U.S.A.
12. Please Send Me Someone To Love
13. Feel Like Stroking
14. Johnny B

Zora Young is featured on:



Delmark Home Page