A lot has been happening for James Wheeler in the last couple years. He was primarily known as a guitar playing sideman but his 1998 album Ready! (Delmark 719) and recent tours of Europe and South America have established James as leader. Living Blues magazine in a review of Ready! said "Wheeler sings and plays with polished authority. How could such a tasteful and talented musician have slipped through the cracks for so long?" Wheeler first started his own band in '63 which backed many greats as they passed through Chicago including Al Green, Johnny Taylor, Etta James and others. He did lengthy stints with Otis Clay, Otis Rush, Mississippi Heat and is currently playing guitar as a member of Willie Kent & The Gents. Can't Take It is James' second Delmark album and it will further establish him as bandleader and recording artist.

Song List:
1. Who Loves You Baby?
2. Wasting My Time
3. The Weaker Sex
4. This Can't Be Happening To Me
5. Sometimes
6. She's Gonna Pay
7. Come Home
8. You Make It Hard Baby
9. I Can't Take It
10. These Hard Hard Times
11. Goin' To The Station
12. My Baby's Gone
13. Where Did You Stay Last Night?
14. Sweet Thang

James Wheeler is featured on:



Delmark Home Page