This album resurrects the definitive 1962 recording session by an historic pillar of New Orleans' gospel singing community, Sister Elizabeth Eustis. Only four of the thirteen songs from this session were originally released; the other nine - which include some of the session's most brilliant moments - are issued here for the very first time. They recall a classic New Orleans gospel vocalist, a venerable Baptist church-house singer.

Song List:
1. In My Home Over There
2. My Heart Is Fixed Alright
3. A Sinner's Plea
4. The Last Mile Of The Way
5. Just A Little While To Stay Here
6. Old Rugged Cross
7. Joshua Fit The Battle Of Jericho
8. Faith And Grace
9. He Knows My Heart
10. It Is No Secret
11. Walk With Me
12. The Silent Communion Of Prayer
13. Lord, Lord, Lord, You Certainly Been Good To Me

Reaction Report:

New Orleans' history of sublime gospel singing has slid into shadow since the death of Mahalia Jackson in 1972. But visitors to the Crescent City's annual Jazz & Heritage Festival are reawakened to the music's local vitality at the gospel tent. Although this album was recorded in 1962, it sounds exactly like the joyful noise that's still raised under the canvas roof. Perhaps that's because Sister Eustis was New Orleans' most popular stay-at-home gospel star from 1954 to '74. Here, backed by the Second Mount Olive Baptist Church choir, Sister's clear beacon of a contralto cuts to the uplifting spirit of praises like "Lord, Lord, Lord, You Certainly Been Good to Me" and venerable hymns like "The Old Rugged Cross" with unmitigated zeal. And Alverta Mills of the Mount Olive choir uses her uncanny, angelic theremin of a soprano to embellish Eustis' exhortations. Even atheists can get a charge from the limitless electricity in their voices. Amen! (4 stars)

-Ted Drozdowski, Pulse

Home to the Delmark Home Page