This is Lurrie's third Delmark CD. His '95 release Mercurial Son (679) was one of the most talked about and widely acclaimed CDs of the year. Gary Giddins of the Village Voice proclaimed it the "Best Blues Record of the Year". Jas Obrecht reviewed Lurrie's second CD, 700 Blues (700), in Guitar Player; "Lurrie delivers kingly bends, strange, stuttering phrases and long, spooling solos. His blown-speaker voice is rough and raw, his timing impeccable and his drive fearless". Kiss Of Sweet Blues was produced by Dave Specter who is also featured on guitar. Of the fifteen songs most are new original compositions.

Song List:
1. Bring Yourself Back To Me
2. You're Gonna Be Sorry
3. Kiss Of Sweet Blues
4. Wicked Hearted Woman
5. Blues And Black Coffee
6. Hiding in The Spotlight
7. Lurrie's Guitar Boogie
8. Bad Dog
9. Somebody Help Me
10. Drivin' Through The Darkness
11. Lonesome Guitar Man
12. Build Myself A Mansion
13. Lurrie's Funky Groove Thang
14. Don't Ask Me Why
15. After Hours


"'There's something about Lurrie Bell. Everybody who has ever played with him or seen him scuffling the Chicago scene for years will tell you a whole lot about Lurrie Bell. But mostly it'll boil down to something like "when his head is right, Lurrie is the baddest mofer on the planet." And by that they usually refer to his prodigious talent on guitar and the spiritual hold that the blues has on him.

"This is the third and best of the albums Bell has recorded for Delmark (Mercurial Son and 700 Blues are the others) in the past several years. No small credit for this success is due to label amte and longtime friend Dave Specter, who produced and lent his considerable musical gifts to the project. Specter also hand-picked the studio band that gave Bell as talented a supporting cast as could be hoped for...Bell snaps the strings with cold fury and Specter matches and complements him note for hollow-bodied note. The granular vocals are handled by Bell, sounding worn and weary beyond his years.

"Highlights abound, none more filled with autobiographical irony than drummer Mike Schlick's "Hiding in the Spotlight": "I still wake up tired of searching for the dreams I never had." Both Bell and Specter lay down gut-wrenching leads that punctuate the despair of the song. There's nothing real sweet about these blues...Strong lyrics and Bell's emotional depth hold the entire set together and save if from being yet another exercise in instrumental bravado. One only hopes that this scion of the blues continues on this impressive road."

-Jack Oudiz, Blues Access

Lurrie Bell is featured on:


Home to the Delmark Home Page