Reginald R. Robinson was only 20 years old when he came out with his first Delmark CD, The Strongman (662), in '93. The response from writers, radio shows, musicians and the general public was immediate and overflowing with praise. In a Down Beat blindfold test pianist Marcus Roberts said "I really found it delightful to hear his work. Could you leave me the tape?" The Mississippi Rag said "Ragtime's future looks bright as an exciting new composer/pianist adds to the ragtime repertoire". "Reggie" flew to New York to appear on Marian McPartland's syndicated radio show. On Euphonic Sounds, Robinson's third Delmark album, Reggie has given us another moving testament to his own passions and compelling ragtime creations. He has documented here his major inspirations and has given us more results of these inspirations in the form of his own exquisite compositions.

Song List:
1. Joplin Song Fragment
2. Space Coaster Ride
3. The Entertainer
4. Raggy Rag
5. Pekin Rag
6. Truly Yours
7. Heliotrope Bouquet
8. Babe, It's Too Long Off
9. The Moon Is Shining In The Skies
10. Euphonic Sounds
11. Frog Legs Rag
12. Sweet Envy
13. The Daredevil's Gallop
14. Ragtime Bobolink
15. Adventures In Wonderland
16. Incognito
17. Still Water Blues
18. Lift Every Voice And Sing
19. Cottontail Rag


"Chicago has no shortage of gifted young pianists, but few as distinctive as ragtime aficionado Reginald R. Robinson. Equally adept at writing modern-day ragtime compositions and interpreting classics and forgotten gems of the past, Robinson breaks some important new ground with his third Delmark release (which follows The Strongman and Sounds in Silhouette). For starters, he opens with a `Scott Joplin Song Fragment' he discovered and records here for the first time. Elsewhere, Robinson treats music of Joplin, Louis Chauvin, Joseph F. Lamb and other vintage ragtime composers with a vigor, freshness and authenticity of touch that they do not often receive. The recording also includes several harmonically lush pieces by Robinson that effectively expand the ragtime repertoire for a new era."

- Howard Reich, Chicago Tribune

Reginal R. Robinson's other Delmark albums are Sounds in Sillhouette (DE 670). and The Strong Man (DE 662).

For more information about Reginald R. Robinson, check out this article from the Chicago Reader.

Home to the Delmark Home Page