Chicago's prestigious Universal Studios was the site for the vast majority of recording sessions held by United Records there were a few exceptions. The two United sessions on this album were done in the basement digs of producer Al Smith. Guitarist Morris Pejoe's sound was distinguished by the bouncy rhythmic feel of his native Louisiana and a blasting Texas-tinged guitar style. Pejoe made his first recordings for Checker (Chess' subsidiary). His Gulf Coast approach was a rarity around Chicago, but guitarist Arthur "Big Boy" Spires's Delta-driven sound was tailor-made for the city's blues mainstream. Born in Mississippi, Spires also made his debut on Checker. After listening to this motherlode of vintage Chicago blues-- all of it unissued prior to its original Delmark vinyl unearthing --you'll be inclined to agree that Bob Dylan's fabled "basement tapes" now have some stiff competition! Budget Priced!

Part of our United Series.

Song List:
1. Country Boy
2. Girt Town Blues
3. Mister Fool
4. Never Missed My Baby
5. Jump And Shout
6. Mellow Woman Blues
7. Why Did You Say Goodbye
8. Pack Your Bags And Go
9. Do You Love Me
10. Now That You're Gone
11. Just To Be Home With You (Take 1)
12. I Cried (Take 1)
13. Hard-Lovin' Mama
14. Find A Job
15. Please Throw This Poor Dog A Bone
16. Talking To The Blues
17. Too Drunk To Drink
18. Where's The Money, Honey
19. Little Fat Woman With The Coconut Head
20. You've Been Mistreating Me
21. Process Blues
22. Get Out Of Here Woman
23. Blazer Boy Blues
24. New Orleans Women Blues
25. Jump And Shout (Alternate)

Home to the Delmark Home Page