Memphis Slim has made more records than any other pianist in blues history. His rich vocals and solid piano work have been exhibited in settings including blues, R&B, rock, even country & western - solo or in bands both large and small. Slim's recordings for the United label are outstanding, not only among Slim's own proliferation of material, but among the whole field of urban band blues. And they marked a special occasion: the introduction to Chicago blues of Matt "Guitar" Murphy. The guitar brought a change in the sound of Memphis Slim & His House Rockers that lasted until Slim disbanded the group and moved to France. Murphy joined the Blues Brothers and became a model for even more emerging modern blues guitarists. This CD contains two Murphy instrumentals, three songs not available since the 78s, and four previously unissued alternate takes

Part of our United Series.

Song List:
1. Memphis Slim U.S.A.
2. Sassy Mae
3. Little Piece Of Mind
4. Got To Find My Baby
5. Banana Oil
6. Blue And Lonesome
7. Two Of A Kind
8. She's Allright
9. Blues All Around My Head
10. Wish Me Well
11. Four Years Of Torment
12. Got To Find My Baby
13. Slim Was Just Kiddin'
14. Jive Time Bounce
15. Backbone Boogie
16. Memphis Slim U.S.A. (Alternate)
17. She's Allright (Alternate)
18. Blues All Around My Head (Alternate)
19. Blue And Lonesome (Alternate)

Albums featuring Memphis Slim...




Home to the Delmark Home Page