United's gospel catalog was lean but prime. During the '50s, Chicago was gospel's capital, its Vatican and Mecca, home turf of its pioneer exponents, Thomas A. Dorsey, Mahalia Jackson and Roberta Martin. By then the music had flourished for at least twenty years; it was old enough to possess its own conventions and stylistic traits, new enough to still sound fresh. The singers included on this CD were among Chicago's most innovative and eclectic. By 1951 Robert Anderson was Chicago's leading male soloist, easily Mahalia's equal in popularity or influence. Robert Ballinger's later recordings became minor hits and caused a sensation among lovers of blues piano. Lucy Smith also played piano; she spent several years accompanying the Martin Singers on records and James Cleveland derived his piano technique from her. Lucy's singing and lead vocalist Gladys Beamon Gregory's performances are a testament to the glory of Chicago gospel.

Part of our United Series.

Song List:
1. Come In The Room
2. Trust In Jesus
3. How Could It Be
4. Oh Lord, Is It I
5. How I Got Over
6. Sow Righteous Seeds
7. He's Pleading In Glory
8. He's Pleading In Glory (Alternate)
9. My Expectation
10. How Could It Be (Fragment)
11. Working The Road
12. Standing In The Safety Zone
13. I John Saw The Number
14. Drop Your Net
15. My Soul Loves Jesus
16. I'm Heaven Bound
17. Come Unto Me
18. Jesus, Lover Of My Soul
19. Down On My Knees
20. I Just Had To Call His Name
21. He'll Make You Happy
22. He's My Everything
23. Hold The Light
24. Hold The Light (Alternate)

Home to the Delmark Home Page