Apollo started in NYC, February 1944, but by August '45 they were also recording on the west coast. Everybody Boogie! begins with two sides featuring tenor sax giant Illinois Jacquet & his All Stars (with Bill Doggett & Charles Mingus). This was only the second time Harris had recorded as a leader. Sixteen sides were cut for Apollo at four sessions. The second featured Jack McVea & his All Stars ( with Teddy Buckner) and included the classic "Somebody Done Changed The Lock On My Door". The third date was led by bassist Oscar Pettiford, featuring a tenor sax player believed to be Wardell Gray. Everybody Boogie! also features two previously unissued alternate takes.

Part of our Apollo Series.

Song List:
1. Wynonie's Blues
2. Here Comes The Blues
3. Baby Look At You
4. Somebody Changed The Lock On My Door
5. Gone With The Wind
6. That's The Stuff You Gotta Watch
7. Straighten Him Out
8. Young Man's Blues
9. I Got A Lyin' Woman
10. Everybody Boogie
11. Time To Change Your Tune
12. Rebecca's Blues
13. Playful Baby
14. Young And Wild
15. Papa Tree Top
16. Take Me Out Of The Rain
17. I Got A Lyin' Woman (Alternate)
18. Everbody Boogie (Alternate)

Albums featuring Wynonie Harris...



Home to the Delmark Home Page