You'll find a gold mine of blues within this album. Most of the songs are newer original Sykes compositions. However, three are new renditions of old Sykes classics. 44 Blues, Boot That Thing, and Henry Ford Blues were recorded at his first recording session on June 14, 1929! The enclosed notes described his place in blues history, but Sykes was more the "historically" important. The music from this 1966 solo session shows he still sang and played piano as well as ever (if not better). Gold Mine is vital blues with Roosevelt Sykes singing his heart out.

Song List:
1. Big Ben
2. Boot That Thing
3. Springfield Blues
4. Henry Ford Blues
5. I'm A Dangerous Man
6. True Thing
7. You Understand
8. Whole Lot Of Children
9. The Last Laugh
10. Gold Mine
11. 44 Blues
12. Sugar Cup

Albums featuring Roosevelt Sykes...



Home to the Delmark Home Page