"The Tennessee Blues Poet" was Pete Welding's description of John Adam Estes, a.k.a. Sleeply John. It correctly emphasizes his ability as a writer of classic blues and hints at the tremendous power of his voice, so ridden with life experience that most assumed he was already in his 80s when he made his first records in 1929. He's accompanied here fellow Brownsvillians Yank Rachell, mandolin; and Hammie Nixon, harmonica; plus a young Mike Bloomfield quietly adding his powerhouse guitar on four tracks.

John went from this album to the Newport Folk Festival, Europe and eventually was a member of the first blues group to tour Japan where he even made the charts.

1. Broke And Hungry
2. Black Mattie
3. 3:00 Morning Blues
4. Beale Street Sugar
5. Everybody Oughta Change
6. Olie Blues
7. So Glad I'm Livin'
8. Al Rawls
9. Freedom Loan
10. The Girl I Love
11. Electric Chair
12. Sleepy John's Twist

Albums featuring Sleepy John Estes...



Home to the Delmark Home Page