Keefe Jackson's Fast Citizens Ready Everyday
Delmark DE 571

Keefe Jackson's Fast Citizens explore the boundaries between composition and improvisation. Jackson, saxophonist and principal composer, formed the Chicago group in 2003. "...Jackson's marbled tone expresses a lovely lyricism no matter how brusque or serrated his lines get." -Chicago Reader. In 2004 Fast Citizens held a residency at Chicago's famous club the Hideout, where the group developed a formidable cohesiveness. Their music has broadened, even redefined the idea of a "cooperative" band. The group includes saxophonist Aram Shelton & cellist Fred Lonberg-Holm, who also compose, and cornetist Josh Berman, drummer Frank Rosaly & bassist Anton Hatwich. Berman, Jackson & Rosaly are also members of the Chicago Luzern Exchange, whose 2005 release Several Lights (Delmark 561) received great critical and audience acclaim.

You can listen to tracks or buy MP3s by clicking below, or by visiting sites such as iTunes, eMusic and others.

If the portal doesn't work in your browser or is ad-blocked, you can get the same audio below:

Amazon audio link, Delmark 571.

Delmark Home Page