Last year Delmark issued the tenor sax tandem of Von Freeman & Ed Petersen on Von & Ed (Delmark 508). Here's another locking of horns, this time with Von and Frank Catalano. In all the years that Von Freeman has been conducting jam sessions at Chicago's Apartment Lounge, not too many young suburban white kids have walked through the door looking for a shot to jam with the master. Frank did and made quite an impression on Von. Years later, the tenorists teamed up for an afternoon set at the 1999 Chicago Jazz Festival, where their chemistry was evident from their first notes. In the studio, they picked up where they left off, building on the distinctive harmonies produced by Catalano's flinty sheets of sound and Freeman's voluble, thickly intoned notes. Catalano and Freeman strike a heady balance between ripping changes and deep sighing emotion.

Song List:
1. Get Out
2. Good Bait
3. When I Fall In Love
4. You Talkin' To Me?!
5. Summertime
6. Alone Together
7. Wave
8. I Could Write A Book
9. Reverse Blues

Albums featuring Von Freeman...

Albums featuring Frank Catalano...


Home to the Delmark Home Page