Cecil Payne Payne's Window Delmark DE-509 $15.99

Cecil Payne made his recording debut in 1946 on a J.J. Johnson album that also featured Bud Powell and Max Roach. In 1947 and '48 Cecil played with the Dizzy Gillespie big band which served to cement Payne's professional reputation. He's also recorded with Tadd Dameron, Jimmy Smith, Kenny Dorham, James Moody, Coleman Hawkins, Illinois Jacquet, Randy Weston Anita O'Day, Woody Herman and others. On Payne's Window , Cecil's third Delmark album, the personnel is Cecil Payne, baritone sax, flute; Eric Alexander, tenor sax; Steve Davis, trombone; Harold Mabern, piano; John Webber, bass; Joe Farnsworth, drums. Nice balance of original compositions and covers. Liner notes by Bob Porter.

Cecil Payne appears on Cerupa, Scotch and Milk, and Payne's Window

Song List:
1. Spiritus Parkus
2. Martin Luther King Jr.
3. James
4. That's It Blues
5. Payne's Window
6. Southside Samba
7. Lover Man
8. Tune Up
9. Delilah
10. Hold Tight

You can order or inquire about any of these titles from the Jazz Record Mart:




You can listen to tracks or buy MP3s by clicking below, or by visiting sites such as iTunes, eMusic and others.

If the portal doesn't work in your browser or is ad-blocked, you can get the same audio below:

Amazon audio link, Delmark 509.

Cecil Payne - Payne's Window

Home to the Delmark Home Page