In 1944 Bobby Smith accepted an offer from Erskine Hawkins, with whom he was to remain until 1960. Although he received three offers from Duke Ellington and one from Jimmie Lunceford, Smith was happy with Hawkins. Smith almost immediately reinvigorated the Hawkins band by writing one of its biggest hits, "Tippin' In." The music had the bounce and drive appropriate to Harlem's Savoy ballroom, where Hawkins reigned for so many years. That's For Sure! captures that same feel and is presented here from the original master tapes.

Part of our Apollo Series.

Song List:
1. Bess's Boogie
2. Desert Night
3. Mopsticks
4. Blue Keys
5. Wee Gee Blues
6. Lazy Suzy
7. That's For Sure
8. Sweet And Lovely
9. Flip A Coin
10. Poodgy
11. Skippin' & Hoppin'
12. After Hours
13. Disco
14. Smoothie
15. Better Get Right
16. Dash Hound
17. Cinder Bottom
18. Tippin' In
19. Swan
20. Station Break
21. Helicopter
22. Buffalo Nickel, Part 2

Album's featuring Bobby Smith...


Home to the Delmark Home Page