By the time Cecil Payne left Dizzy Gillespie's band in 1949, he was known as one of the most distinctive voices of the baritone saxophone.

Of music, Louis Armstrong once said, "That's my livin' and my life. I love them notes."

A similar spirit guides the work o Cecil Payne, whose performance on this record resonates with almost sixty years of living and playing the music he loves.

Song List:
1. The Opening
2. Bolambo
3. I Should Care
4. Cerupa
5. Be Wee
6. Cuba
7. Bosco
8. Brookfield Andante

Album's featuring Cecil Payne...


Home to the Delmark Home Page