It was early 1949 before Cootie Williams was able to get his new discovery into a recording studio. A two part 78, Gator Tail, which featured almost no work from the leader but hellfire wailing from an unknown sideman was virtually unprecedented. For many years collectors went searching for the selection that gave Willis Jackson his nickname. The music heard on this disc represents the earliest of his work under his own name.

Part of our Apollo Series.

Song List:
1. Blow, Jackson Blow
2. More Blues At Midnight
3. Later For The Gator
4. Dance Of The Lady Bug
5. Can't Help Lovin' Dat Man
6. Gonna Hoot And Holler Saturday Night
7. Call Of The Gators
8. On My Own
9. Chuck's Chuckles
10. Later For The Gator
11. Lemonade
12. More Blues At Midnight
13. Call Of The Gators
14. Blow, Jackson Blow

Album's featuring Willis Jackson...


Home to the Delmark Home Page