Sun Ra Sound of Joy  

Delmark DD-414 $11.99

Sun Ra's second album was a Delmark release, although it was originally intended for the Transition label, which did not survive long enough to release it. Recorded in 1957

Personnel: Sun Ra, piano, electric piano; Art Hoyle & Dave Young, trumpets; John Gilmore, tenor sax; Pat Patrick, alto & baritone sax; Jim Herndon, tympani, timbali; Julian Priester, trombone; Charles Davis, baritone sax; Victor Sproles, bass; William Cochran, drums; Clyde Williams, vocals.

Song List:
1. El Is A Sound Of Joy
2. Overtones Of China
3. Two Tones
4. Paradise
5. Planet Earth
6. Ankh
7. Saturn
8. Reflections In Blue
9. El Viktor
10. As You Once Were
11. Dreams Come True

Home to the Delmark Home Page

You can order or inquire about any of these titles from the Jazz Record Mart:

SUN RA / SOUND OF JOY -CD *delmark 414
Jazz-Avant Garde CD DELMARK 414


SUN RA & The Arkestra -LP
DELMARK -New LP DS 414 Gilmore, Priester...Ra's 2nd album


SUN RA / SOUND OF JOY -Cassette *DLM 414
Jazz Cassette DELMARK 414