In 1947 Bunk Johnson, who played in New Orleans with Buddy Bolden in the 1890's, hand-picked a group of New York musicians from a much laer age group: the Harlem milleu of Chick Webb, Fletcher Henderson, etc. ... Men who played dramatically different from the George Lewis band which Bunk had fronted on his earlier recordings. Bob Stendahl and Harold Drob recorded them at Carnegie Recital Hall and the results were issued by Columbia. Delmark is proud to issue this historic event for the first time on CD - and with two alternate takes added.

Song List:
1. Someday (You'll Want Me To Want You)
2. Hilarity Rag
3. Some Of These Days
4. The Entertainer
5. Out Of Nowwhere (Alternate)
6. You're Driving Me Crazy
7. Chloe
8. The Minstrel Man
9. Maria Elena
10. Kinklets
11. Out Of Nowhere
12. Till We Meet Again
13. Chloe (Alternate)
14. Teasin' Rag


Home to the Delmark Home Page