Earl Hines is known as one of the best jazz pianists of all time. Count Basie said Earl is "the greatest piano player in the world." In his liner notes Stanley Dance reports " Everyone who has heard these performances- musicians and critics alike- has recognized them as quintessential Hines." As it's title suggests this solo album was indeed recorded at Earl Hines' home in Oakland, California. Weather at live performances or in the recording studio jazz pianists never get to play their own instrument. However, here, Earl was recorded playing his ownpiano; a one-of-a-kind antique Steinway grand in mint condition, specially made by Steinway in 1904. It was given to Hines as a gift in 1969 shortly before these recordings were made.

Song List:
1. You Are Too Beautiful
2. Love At Night Is Out Of Sight
3. It Happens To Be Me
4. Minor Nothing
5. Moon Mare
6. You'll Never Know
7. The Cannery Walk

Albums featuring Earl Hines...




Home to the Delmark Home Page